Skip to main content

Pulitzer Prize


Joseph Pulitzer, founder of the Pulitzer Prize

Photo Credit:

     The Pulitzer Prize is named after the Jewish, Hungarian-born, American newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer.  He was the face of journalism as a skillful newspaper publisher who fought against public and private corruption.  He was also the first journalist to call for the higher level education and training of journalism students.  A few years before his death, Pulitzer made provisions in his will for the establishment and endowment of the Pulitzer Prize.  He gave Columbia University $2,000,000 to establish a school of journalism and for awarded prizes.  Thus, the Pulitzer Prize was established in 1917, and prizes are awarded each year.  Some of the categories are literature, newspaper, drama, poetry, and photography.  

    Nominated Finalists are selected by the Nominating Juries for each category as finalists in the competition. The Pulitzer Prize Board generally selects the Pulitzer Prize Winners from the three nominated finalists in each category.  If in any year all the competitors in any category fail to gain a majority vote of the Pulitzer Prize Board, the prize or prizes can be withheld.  Nominees have always been announced in April of each year with the prizes being awarded a month later in May. Nominees have historically been awarded at a luncheon at Low Memorial Library on the Campus of Columbia University.  The current award for a Pulitzer Prize winner is a $10,000 cash award and a certificate.

    Stephen Dunn was awarded this honor in 2001 for his poetry collection Different Hours.  His Pulitzer Prize announcements and congratulatory letters can be found on the pages within this section.  

In order to learn more about the Pulitzer Prize and watch a masterfully created video, visit: